Acupuncture in Hindu Philosophy
- Raghavendrachar (Yoga shikshak & sujok acupuncturist), Bangalore, India
e-mail: ; Mobile: 9448084873

September 22, 2015

Hindus have two kinds of philosophies. One is Dwaita and other is Adwaita. These two philosophies - Dwaita and Adwaita are based on the Nadis - flow of breathe - three main nadis - in the nostrils.

Breath in the left nostril is ida nadi and breath in the right nostril is pingala nadi. Breath in both nostrils is sushumna nadi. We, human beings, all over the world, breathe sometimes through left nostril, and sometimes through right nostril. This is called as alternate nostril breathing or ida and pingala breathing or yin and yang breathing.

Dwaita philosophy is based on ida and pingala nadis, known as duality in nature. Ida and pingala is one unit - like day and night and are made out of five Elements or yogic shat-chakras. These elements/chakras are the store house of Prana.

Prana is known as 'chi' in China and 'ki' in Korea. There are six kinds of ida and six kinds of pingala nadis, which means, there are 12 kinds of nadis or pranas. Nadis are known as meridians in acupuncture.

Acupuncture is also called as six chi/ki(12 meridian) or five element therapy. Lord Vishnu is the supreme God for vaishnavas (followers of Vishnu cult). Lord Vishnu has 12 kinds of forms namely, Narayana, Madhava, Govinda, Vishnu, Madhusudana, Trivikrama, Vamana, Sridhara, Hrishikesha, Padmanabha, Damodara, Keshawa. These 12 forms of Vishnu represent 12 meridians in acupuncture, also called as 12 Gods. These 12 Gods govern the human body and rotate as a ruler of time - two hours as a time unit - kaala chakra in a day, in the name of five elements - one element for a day - five days - making it into 60 kinds of breathe known as 60-year cycle of samvathsaras. This method of therapy is called as Hindu dwaita therapy.

There is a famous saying in Dwaita philosophy as "Hari sarvottama and Vayu Jeevottama". These Hari, Vayu and Jeeva are very important acupuncture points. Mukhya prana is also an important acu point.

Sri Madhwacharya is the founder of Dwaita philosophy. He shows two fingers - index and middle fingers. It means these two fingers represent Dwaita philosophy - also represents - two finger - time acupuncture therapy (kaala chikitse). In sujok method of acupuncture these 60 samvathsara points are in these two fingers. An acupuncturist insert only one needle selecting one out of these 60 points based on the day and time, known as 'opening points'.

Sometimes we also breathe through both the nostrils (sushumna nadi). This is called Adwaita or Kundalini therapy. In this kind of breathing there is no duality in nature - our aathma is merged in paramathma - Aham Brahmasmi - one with the nature. In Adwaita or kundalini therapy, points are in - governer and conception meridians in acupuncture. Sri Adi Shankaracharya is the founder of Adwaita philosophy.
Dwaita is mind-body therapy whereas Adwaita is spiritual therapy.

- Raghavendrachar (Yoga shikshak & sujok acupuncturist), Bangalore, India
Mobile: 9448084873

Articles | Home