Follow on


Rudraksham is the seed of the Rudraksha tree. These trees are mostly found in abundance in Nepal, in the Himalayan slopes. The dry seeds form the rudraksha bead, which is being used as a rosary and also worn as a chain.

The seed is rough in texture, with the surface divided into segments by ridges running from top to bottom. These form the faces of the rudraksha. A major percentage of beads available have 5 or 6 faces.

The single face rudraksha, considered to be the form of Lord Siva, is very rare and unique.
Two faced rudraksha - Devi.
The three face rudraksha - Agni.
The four face rudraksha - Brahma.
The five face rudraksha - Kalakni Rudra.
The six face rudraksha - Subramanian.
The seven face rudraksha - Manmadan.
The eight face rudraksha - Vinayaga.
The nine face rudraksha - Bhairava.
The ten face rudraksha - Vishnu.
The eleven face rudraksha - Ekadasa Rudra.
The twelve face rudraksha - Dvada Sadhithas.
The thirteen face rudraksha - Shanmuga.
The fourteen face rudraksha - One who is the possesor of such a rudraksha is considered to be an aspect of Lord Siva himself. It is that rare and significant.

It is a rare gift of nature to man in the sense, that most beads come with a hole drilled in the centre, as if nature intended man to use the rudraksha bead to form a chain. Only such rudraksha beads are considered auspicious.

The rudraksha possesses magnetic power and hence when placed between two copper coins, it spins. This magnetic power inherent in the beads is immensely effective to our body and mind and hence wearing a rudraksha mala brings good health and mental peace. It reduces heat in the body, brings down blood pressure and also releives mental pressure and tension. It has been said, that if you drink water in which a rudraksha bead is soaked for 5 minutes, it helps greatly in reducing blood pressure.